Splinted or unsplinted?

Hi, I planned to splint screw-retained crowns 12, 13, and 14 (implant sizes 3, 4,3, and 5.0 mm). Patient now wishes to have them as separated crowns for hygiene reason. I am concerned about cantilever effect on #12 and especially #14 (about 4 mm cantilevered)? What would you advise? To splint or not to splint? Another unrelated question. Would it be sufficient if I only placed implants #12 and #14 and have a bridge with #13 as a pontic? Thanks!

Randall Anonymous comments:

I never accepted the fact that all implants should or need to be splinted. I've been placing implants for 35 years at significant volume. The reason I have questioned the need for splinting was the fact that as we replace a single missing tooth with an implant we have nothing to "splint" it to. Survival rates are 95% plus.... So, why are we "supposed " to splint multiple adjacent implants.. So, NO.... I seldom splint and have an excellent 35 year survival history... Your second question....... Single implants, single crowns, always better than splinted bridge....

Jeff G comments:

Better question is why do 2 of the implants already have crestal bone loss? If that is progressive then you should think about future possibilities of needing to remove one. Then splinting gives you more flexibility. Also if there is progressive bone loss the patient will have increasing interdental spaces that accumulate food and debris. Splinting probably lowers the contact points better than individual crowns.

Bottom line is get a handle on crestal bone stability before restoring.

Aquiles Mas comments: